MAKING A PRESS KNIFE

I am making a platform out of many layers of fabric, and to save time and energy, and to make the process much more efficient, I decided to have what’s called a press knife made. A press knife is made of steel, and one edge is blunt, and the other is sharp.  You place this over leather or fabric and use a hydraulic press to press the knife into the material to cut it into that specific shape.

Bending the steel to fit my paper pattern

Adding a structure brace to be sure the knife keeps its shape through constant pressing

I have posted a quick video on YouTube as well showing the bending of the steel…he makes it look so easy!

This entry was posted in Cordwainers work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MAKING A PRESS KNIFE

  1. Nelly says:

    Thank You for share the information and photos about shoes. It is really amazing to me shoes world

  2. Thanks Nelly! I love designing and making shoes, but when I was looking for this kind of information online, I couldn’t find it, so I thought it would be interesting to share what I am learning with others. I’m glad you find it interesting!

Leave a Reply

